New Beginnings and the World Cup Effect

I know I have not posted in quite some time – but i do have a very good reason!!

For one – i have been busily preparing for my successor in the guild committe and was trying to hammer out last minute details so that she can have a smooth transition into her new post.  I am also getting set up on my new post of Newsletter Editor for the guild.  I am rather looking forward to that – I want to add quirky little articles at the end of the magazine so I’m hoping there will be nice entries submitted throughout the year.  I will miss being a workshop convenor but with the new job – time requirements are not the same unfortunately.

Sooooo new job – completely unexpected.  I sit here at the office on a Saturday because of the amount of documentation and work I would like to have completed before I leave next friday.  I was head hunted for my new position and while I was aiming to get into the consulting world within the next five years, I find that I got the opportunity to do it NOW.  I can’t pass it up – the company is small but very personable and just what I’m looking for to take my first steps into the consulting realm.  The figures are also nice so that means i’ll have more to go around for fabric and quilting notions 😉

Another thing that is happening is the WORLD CUP!!!  I am Argentinian – born and raised – and one thing i can say with certainty is that i have NEVER missed a world cup – EVER.  My mother watched it while i was in the womb and i have been a die hard fan since.  Throught the good bad and ugly i support my beloved Albiceleste to the very end.  So every 4 years, I stop the world for 1 month while I watch my team.  The good news this year is that at least i try to stitch a little when i am watching a match.  That is – if Argentina is not playing.  When argentina plays, my nerves are too much on end to not be glued to the tv 🙂

Another thing i managed to accomplish is to get a mini blitz together to get some of us started on our block of the month projects.  Some like me have not started at all and we were already at the end of the season!  So about 8 of us got together and rented the church space and managed to have an incredible day.  I was wrestling with my block too much so unfortunately i only have pictures of my own block.  I was too engrossed to get everyone elses!  One thing for sure is that i will do it again.  I do not like how i ended up with all these seams going all over the place and its waaay too bumpy – i also did not cut the fabric too well because i ended up with a 12″ block instead of a 12.5″ block.  hmmmm i have to take more time to do it.  The fabric combination i liked however so i will stick to it – the good news is that it is from my own stash!!

I really like this combination.  The other thing i’m still struggling with is my fabric selection for the Bargello Class I am taking in August.  I have 23 fabrics picked out so far but i’m not sure if there is enough contrast amongst them to work … <sigh> well i will see if i can catch the teacher at a sit and sew to see if i can get more pointers.

now – back to work!

Leave a Reply

